My, Myself, and Thai

If you know me at all, it comes at no surprise that I find myself packing my bags and printing boarding passes.

The past year has been an interesting one. Graduating college. Moving home. Starting full-time. And feeling completely passion-less.

My busy, exciting, and social college life was gone, and I found myself horribly comfortable. It seems like an odd way to describe comfort. And it is. I am never one to deny comfort. Comfy clothes, evenings on the couch, sleeping in; I love it all. But to say that my entire life was comfortable, and not seeing an end to that, was terrifying.

I knew it was time for a change: a new job, a new place, a new passion, a new path. Anything. Everything.

img_1730Here’s what I’ve realized in the past year and half since graduation, something they don’t tell you when they hand you your diploma: There is no set path that you have to take with your life. There is no need to compare yourself to your classmates, peers, or coworkers. There is no one else you have to answer to besides yourself and God.

I was doing what I thought I should be doing for a 23 year old, but I wasn’t doing any of it for myself. I got comfortable and bored and completely scared to make a move.

So here I am, once again, packing my bags and printing my boarding passes. But this time is different. I’m not doing it because everyone else is or because it’s the next logical step on a timeline. I’m going to make a difference. To learn. To experience something new. To cross things off the bucket list. To figure out the future, my future. And to figure out myself.

We think we have forever to take chance, but the truth is that we only have today. So why sit and be comfortable when you can be scared, excited, happy, sad, confused, amazed, and hopeful? It’s time to stop comparing and time to start growing.

Here’s to new adventures and working on me, myself, and Thai (lots and lots of Thai.)

 

One thought on “My, Myself, and Thai”

Leave a Reply

